Andover Townsman, Andover, MA


July 12, 2012

Local scholars

St. John's Prep honor roll

The following students were named to the St. John's Prep honor roll for the third quarter of the 2011-2012 school year.

Headmaster's list: Andrew Cadigan, John Chahraban, Matthew Eckstein and Marcus Pelletier.

Principal's list: Matthew Broderick, Michael DeLuca, Greggory Kobelski, Zachary Sargent and Anastasios Wallingford.

Honor roll: Tyler Bird, Alexander Cain, Jonathan Costello, Taylor Brock-Fisher, Phillip Igoe, Conrad Kuin, Cory Lang, Walker Martin, John McKeon, Shane Napolitano, Sean Nork and Timothy Tully.

Students who qualified for the headmaster's list earned grades of A- or above; students who qualified for the principal's list earned grades of B+ or above; and students who qualified for the honor roll earned grades of B or above.

AHS students receive book award

Andover High School students Daniel Caveney and Xinni Chen were awarded the 2012 Saint Michael's College Book Award for Academic Achievement with a Social Conscience.

The award recognizes students who demonstrate a commitment to leadership in volunteer service and academic achievement.

Recipients, named at schools throughout the country, are high school juniors who are inductees of the National Honor Society or an equivalent school-sponsored honors organization. They must demonstrate a commitment to service activities in high school or community organizations, taking leadership roles in these activities.

Winners were presented the book First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Loung Ung, a 1993 Saint Michael's College graduate and author.

Capone honored with awards

Bianca Angelina Capone of Andover graduated from Pingree School in South Hamilton on June 10 Cum Laude and With Highest Distinction.

She also received the History Department Award for Excellence given to a member of the senior class in recognition of his or her commitment to intellectual inquiry and academic excellence as evidenced by outstanding achievement across the history curriculum; the Language Department Award for Excellence given to a senior who has shown unfailing dedication to their work, outstanding performance at all levels of the language, and a great interest for other people and their cultures; and the Mathematics Department Award for Excellence given to a senior who has demonstrated excellence in all aspects of the study of mathematics.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Pictures of the Week