Andover Townsman, Andover, MA

July 12, 2012

Local scholars

St. John's Prep honor roll

The following students were named to the St. John's Prep honor roll for the third quarter of the 2011-2012 school year.

Headmaster's list: Andrew Cadigan, John Chahraban, Matthew Eckstein and Marcus Pelletier.

Principal's list: Matthew Broderick, Michael DeLuca, Greggory Kobelski, Zachary Sargent and Anastasios Wallingford.

Honor roll: Tyler Bird, Alexander Cain, Jonathan Costello, Taylor Brock-Fisher, Phillip Igoe, Conrad Kuin, Cory Lang, Walker Martin, John McKeon, Shane Napolitano, Sean Nork and Timothy Tully.

Students who qualified for the headmaster's list earned grades of A- or above; students who qualified for the principal's list earned grades of B+ or above; and students who qualified for the honor roll earned grades of B or above.

AHS students receive book award

Andover High School students Daniel Caveney and Xinni Chen were awarded the 2012 Saint Michael's College Book Award for Academic Achievement with a Social Conscience.

The award recognizes students who demonstrate a commitment to leadership in volunteer service and academic achievement.

Recipients, named at schools throughout the country, are high school juniors who are inductees of the National Honor Society or an equivalent school-sponsored honors organization. They must demonstrate a commitment to service activities in high school or community organizations, taking leadership roles in these activities.

Winners were presented the book First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Loung Ung, a 1993 Saint Michael's College graduate and author.

Capone honored with awards

Bianca Angelina Capone of Andover graduated from Pingree School in South Hamilton on June 10 Cum Laude and With Highest Distinction.

She also received the History Department Award for Excellence given to a member of the senior class in recognition of his or her commitment to intellectual inquiry and academic excellence as evidenced by outstanding achievement across the history curriculum; the Language Department Award for Excellence given to a senior who has shown unfailing dedication to their work, outstanding performance at all levels of the language, and a great interest for other people and their cultures; and the Mathematics Department Award for Excellence given to a senior who has demonstrated excellence in all aspects of the study of mathematics.

Capone, who also received a Highest Scholarship Bowl for maintaining an average of 95 or above for the entire school year, will attend Columbia University in the fall.

St. John's Prep students honored

The following students were honored for outstanding academic achievement during a student award convocation held at the end of the school year: Rory Burke, Physical Education Award; Andrew Cadigan, English and Science Award; John Chahraban, Academic Excellence Award; Matthew Eckstein, Religious Studies and Science Award; Phillip Igoe, Computer Science Award; Mateo Jacome, Physical Education Award; Alexander Munick, Physical Education Award; and Sean Nork, Mathematics Award.

Coombs graduates Newton Country Day School

Andover resident Joanna Coombs graduated from Newton Country Day School of the Sacred Heart on June 7, 2012.

The daughter of Nancy Reddish, Coombs will matriculate at Clemson University.

Lawrence Academy honor roll

The following students from Andover earned academic honors for Lawrence Academy's spring 2012 trimester, according to the Groton private school.

High Honors

Inez Bouzon, junior

Brian Finn, junior

Brett McQuaide, senior

Gregory Stern, junior

Jillian Thero, junior

Madeleine Thero, freshman


Laura Adie, sophomore

Sarah Casey, junior

Hannah Cunningham, junior

Gabriella DiVincenzo, freshman

Madelaine Gray, junior

Devon Heavey, sophomore

Emma Keefe, junior

Resident graduates Cohen Hillel Academy

Andover resident Akiva Or-Shahar was one of 22 students to graduate from Cohen Hillel Academy in Peabody on June 19.

The Cohen Hillel Academy graduating class of 2012 completed their Hillel experience in a heartfelt ceremony at Temple Ner Tamid in Peabody with almost 300 parents, relatives, friends, faculty and staff in attendance, according to the school. Cohen Hillel is a K-8 Jewish day school serving Boston's North Shore communities.

Cregg named to Brookwood School honor roll

Eighth-grader Hannah Cregg was named to the Brookwood School honor roll, which recognizes students averaging 85 with no grade below 80.

Kuan awarded $1,000 scholarship from Comcast

Anne Kuan earned a Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship because of her dedication to community service, academic achievement and leadership skills.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students.

The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

Pingree School second semester honor roll

Bianca Capone was named to the high honor roll at Pingree School in South Hamilton for the second semester.

Prakirn Upadhyay was named to the honors roll.

Daniel Prawdzik was named to the head of school's list.