Andover Townsman, Andover, MA

November 21, 2013

92 join ranks of Andover High School's National Honor Society

The Andover Townsman

---- — Andover High School welcomed more than 90 juniors and seniors to the ranks of its National Honor Society this month.

Juniors and seniors who have a grade-point average of 3.75 weighted or 4.25 unweighted, complete 50 hours of community service, provide character references, demonstrate leadership potential and participate in a variety of school and community activities are considered for membership in the National Honor Society.

“This is an exceptional group of students and I am consistently impressed and inspired by their talents and accomplishments,” Andover High English teacher Brian Shea, who serves as advisor to the National Honor Society, said in a release.

“In addition to being made up of a variety of students who excel in academics, athletics and the arts, NHS students are a group of generous, caring and respectful kids who are deeply involved in their community.”

The ceremony took place Nov. 6 at the Collins Center at Andover High, followed by a reception for students, family and faculty members.

Current members of the National Honor Society provided musical entertainment during the ceremony.

Attorney Wendy Murphy of Belmont was chosen by the National Honor Society executive board, comprised of current seniors, to serve as the guest speaker. In addition, more than 40 faculty members, chosen by the inductees, were recognized at the ceremony for their ongoing contributions to students’ academic, social and civic growth.

The new inductees will go right to work by participating in the annual National Honor Society apple pie fundraiser on Saturday, Nov. 23. Students will be making 300 apple pies to sell as well as to donate to Lazarus House in Lawrence.

Proceeds from the fundraiser support the National Honor Society scholarship fund and various charities. Pie orders can be made through members or by emailing Shea at

2013 National Honor Society inductees

Sophia Allen

Azita Bakhtyari

Mahalia Banton

Connor Batsimm

Amy Bolton

Matthew Boulanger

Sabrina Boutselis

Caroline Brosnan

Colleen Caveney

Sean Caveney

Laurie-Maude Chenard

Nikhil Chopra

Bridget Collins

Robert Crockett

Alexandra Crowley

Alec Dean

Jacqueline Dean

Justine DiPasquale

Jacob Doskocil

Caroline Drooff

Brian Duffy

Athena Erickson

Kimberly Feng

Jessica Ferronetti

Hope Flynn

Jillian Gamache

Michelle Gencorelli

Kristina Giacchetto

Jason Grosz

Courtney Grygiel

Forest Hallee

Paige Hartnett

Catherine Haut

John Hoar

Amanda Hornick

Mei Houser

Chelsea Hu

Grace Huang

Thomas Kalantzakos

Sarah Kenyon

Farrien Khan

Stephanie Knepper

Jenna Kosinski

Mary Kuan

Ritu Kumble

Charley Lei

Jaclyn Long

Julia Mancini

Jaime Manjoney

Julia Manty

Molly Manuel

Owen Meech

Gwyneth Miner

Pooja Mukund

Alison Murtagh

McKenzie Nash

Terence Norton

Kathryn Nuzzolo

Joanna Olson

Emma Oskar

Daniel Parrill

Avnee Patel

Caitlin Pattenn

Grace Perigaut

Julia Perry

Caroline Price

Lillian Puccia

Kevin Puduserli

Anna Quartararo

Liam Rex

Peter Rex

Andrew Riemer

Sarah Rorhmann

Sean Roselle

Janak Shah

Tarushi Sharma

Erica Shaw

Sebastian Silvera

Morgan Starkweather

Vivian Steinbaugh

Jaime Street

Monika Sudol

Monika Sudol

Alexander Tran

Sarah Vrountas

Andrew Wang

Lynn Wang

Andrew Wang

Michael Weber

Karena Yan

Katherine Yu

Daniel Zhang