Andover Townsman, Andover, MA

July 5, 2012

Local scholars

Six graduate from St. John's

St. John's Preparatory School held its 102nd Commencement exercises on Sunday, May 20. Headmaster Edward P. Hardiman, Ph.D. awarded diplomas to 276 seniors during an outdoor ceremony held on the school's campus.

Hardiman praised the graduates for all they had achieved during their years at St. John's, and he exhorted them to use those lessons to guide them throughout their lives. "You have accomplished a great deal and given witness to the faith, brotherhood and wisdom that has animated St. John's Prep since its was founded in 1907. This wisdom challenges you to advocate for justice, embrace diversity, pursue excellence, and place your gifts at the service of those in need."

Andover students who graduated are:

Matthew L. Broderick, National Honor Society member;

Devin Christopher Burke, National Honor Society member;

Michael William DeLuca, National Honor Society member;

Christopher S. Hartnett Jr., Chinese Silver Medal winner;

Matthew Harty Hyszczak, National Honor Society member; and

David Michael Kou.

Two AHS students earn National Merit Scholarships

Two Andover High School students are among the National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners announced this month by National Merit Scholarship Corp. The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 finalists.

The Andover High students are Samuel A. Malakhovsky, who lists a probable career field of medicine, and Linda Wang, who lists a probable career field of biomedical engineering .

National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. They were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors.

All finalists competed for these awards. To select winners, a committee appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by the finalists and their high schools: the academic record; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay by the finalist; and a recommendation by a high school official.

St. John's Prep honor roll

The following students were named to the St. John's Prep honor roll for the third quarter of the 2011-2012 school year.

Headmaster's list: Andrew Cadigan, John Chahraban, Matthew Eckstein and Marcus Pelletier.

Principal's list: Matthew Broderick, Michael DeLuca, Greggory Kobelski, Zachary Sargent and Anastasios Wallingford.

Honor roll: Tyler Bird, Alexander Cain, Jonathan Costello, Taylor Brock-Fisher, Phillip Igoe, Conrad Kuin, Cory Lang, Walker Martin, John McKeon, Shane Napolitano, Sean Nork and Timothy Tully.

Students who qualified for the headmaster's list earned grades of A- or above in all courses; students who qualified for the principal's list earned grades of B+ or above in all courses; and students who qualified for the honor roll earned grades of B or above in all courses.

Capone honored with numerous awards

Bianca Angelina Capone of Andover graduated from Pingree School in South Hamilton on June 10 Cum Laude and With Highest Distinction.

She also received the History Department Award for Excellence given to a member of the senior class in recognition of his or her commitment to intellectual inquiry and academic excellence as evidenced by outstanding achievement across the history curriculum; the Language Department Award for Excellence given to a senior who has shown unfailing dedication to their work, outstanding performance at all levels of the language, and a great interest for other people and their cultures; and the Mathematics Department Award for Excellence given to a senior who has demonstrated excellence in all aspects of the study of mathematics.

Capone, who also received a Highest Scholarship Bowl for maintaining an average of 95 or above for the entire school year, will attend Columbia University in the fall.