Andover Townsman, Andover, MA

May 16, 2013

Norton picked for Mary French Yellow Rose Award

The Andover Townsman

---- — John Norton, who leads the special education program at Andover High School, is being saluted as the recipient of the Andover Special Education Parent Advisory Council’s 12th annual Mary French Yellow Rose Award.

The award ceremony will be held Wednesday, May 22, at 7 p.m. at Wood Hill Middle School Auditorium.

The award was created by SEPAC in memory of French, an Andover selectwoman and director of pupil personnel who was considered an unsung leader in education. She is credited with breaking ground in the delivery of special education and the inclusion of the whole child in service delivery.

Nominees can be a special needs teacher, traditional education teacher, instructional assistant, coach, therapist or any other Andover public schools employee. The award honors true collaborators who are known to provide opportunity for students to access both regular academic and recreational educational programs in meaningful ways and who embrace change and take risk to improve on current educational policies.

The public is invited to the ceremony, which will recognize both Norton and all of this year’s nominees.

The nominees, by school, are:

Bancroft Elementary: Cliff Bourie, Donna Lubarsky

High Plain Elementary: Debbie DiCenso, Robin Dubois, Mary Gorman, Kim Rabold, Meredith Rawlinson, Emily Stroeher, Helen Waller

Sanborn Elementary: Christine Baldwin, Patricia Barrett, Patricia Carpentier, Rani Chase, Ginny Champagne, Betsy Goddard, Susan Hunter-Jones, Jean Murphy, Jaqueline Orphanos, Jennifer Seymour

Shawsheen Elementary: Patricia Calley, Patti Hunt, Ann O’Donnell

West Elementary: Debra Zanotti

West Middle: Kelli Artus, Tara Brink, Lisa Brouillard, Inga Fuerst, Nancy Kumph, Dolores Laughlin, Meg Lawler, Darlene Ohlenbusch, Christine Souza, Emily Thompson

Wood Hill Middle: Steve Tisbert

Andover High: Stephanie Hand, Abby Levin, John Norton, Daniel O’Neil (student), Paula Westmacott

A reception in the school cafeteria will follow the ceremony.