Andover Townsman, Andover, MA


September 19, 2013

High-schoolers named National Merit semifinalists

More than 30 seniors at Andover High School and Phillips Academy have been named semifinalists in the 59th annual 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The students — among 16,000 semifinalists nationally who represent less than 1 percent of U.S. high-schoolers — are now eligible to compete for 8,000 National Merit Scholarships worth about $35 million, which will be offered next spring.

To become a finalist, the students and their high schools must submit a detailed scholarship application that includes their academic record, participation in school and community activities, leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards.

The local semifinalists are:

Andover High School: Julia L. Ganley, Jaydeep C. Sambangi, Qingyuan Wu and Wendy L. Zhou

Phillips Academy: Jordan B. Bond, Adam R. Brody, Zoe A. Chazen, Rosalyn B. Chen, Sequoia S. Chun, Shay M. Collins, Casey J. Durant, George Z. Gu, David B. He, Anika Y. Kim, Brian K. Kim, Hyunji Koo, Alex Kwon, Jacob C. Marrus, Reid L. Meyer, Michael Michiue, Gabriel B. Parlin, Farris M. Peale, Elizabeth M. Rao, Caroline Sambuco, Nathan Y. Sheng, Alexander R. Tamkin, Anna M. Teitler, Brian E. Wagner, Catherine Wang, Daniel Wang, Andrew Yang and Benjamin Yi

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Pictures of the Week