Andover Townsman, Andover, MA


October 17, 2013

AHS seniors named National Merit Commended Students, Scholar

Fourteen Andover High School seniors were named Commended Students in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

They are: Connor Batsimm, Eamon Callahan, Grace Casto, Dylan Epstein, Harrison Hou, Sarah LaMacchia, Christopher McKenna, Aria Lowenhaupt, Katherine O’Kelly, Jay Patel, Nicholas Wall, Jessica Webber, Qingliu Wu and Sharon Wu.

Although they will not continue in the 2014 competition for National Merit Scholarships, the some 34,000 Commended Students nationwide placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2014 competition by taking the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

In addition, Alec Dean, also a senior at Andover High, has been honored by the College Board as a 2013-14 National Hispanic Scholar, based on his PSAT/NMSQT scores. He is among about 5,300 students selected from a pool of more than 259,000 students who took the 2012 PSAT/NMSQT/PAA.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Pictures of the Week