Andover Townsman, Andover, MA

February 7, 2013

He's back: The return of Mr. AHS

It's been three years since a Mr. AHS was crowned

Judy Wakefield
Staff Writer

---- — EDITOR'S NOTE: Since this story was published in the print edition, the Mr. AHS pageant has been postponed by the expected blizzard. The event may be rescheduled for Tuesday.


Two Andover High classes have said no thanks to the historical - and often hysterical - Mr. AHS event.

But the male pageant is back this year, and a hostess of the event is thrilled.

“People really like Mr. AHS and we haven’t had it since I was a freshman,” said AHS senior Kelsey Stevens. “Andover High has had it at least 10 years, so we’re psyched it’s back. A lot of people really look forward to it.”

Ryan Macrae, another AHS senior girl, is also hostessing.

Set to happen on Saturday, Feb. 9 at 7 p.m. in the Collins Center, nine junior and senior boys are to be sponsored by nine AHS girls and the boys will strut their talented stuff in the competition. A team of judges, including Townsman editor Neil Fater, will select this year’s Mr. AHS. Contestants frequently go for the biggest laughs in competitions such as creating a “dream date.”

“There’s a broad range of talent,” Stevens said. “There’s serious yo-yo-ing, singing, dancing, inspirational poems...and the dream date scene...and so much more.”

Twelve years ago, a piano-playing songwriter was crowned Mr. AHS. That was 2001 when Eric Giordano was crowned. He moved to Los Angeles and went on to direct the music for “Popzilla,” an MTV show that spoofs celebrities.

Drew Berens, also a former Mr. Andover High School, starred in a musical version of “Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day,” a Boston Children’s Theatre production.

Maybe one of this year’s contestants will find similar post-Mr. AHS success.

Mr. AHS contestants and their respective sponsors are:

Seniors: Bryan Sutherland and Lisa Salley, Sean Sullivan and Katya Kaminsky, and Kendric McCarroll and Romane Mauge.

Juniors: Carter Letsky and Gina Benito, Joe Benjamin and Annie Murphy, Max Galat and Christine Aumais, Jared Goldstein and Addi Kennedy, James lee and Tracy Sun, and Conor Meehan and Sheryl Ehlbeck.