Nine properties and a local anti-cell tower group in Andover are being recognized by the Andover Preservation Commission for making significant contributions to preserving the historic and community character of Andover.

May is Preservation Month in Massachusetts and three groups in town — the Andover Preservation Commission, Ballardvale Historic District Commission and the Andover Historical Society — collaborated to recognize those individuals who have made recent, significant contributions to preserving the character of Andover.

The Preservation Awards event will be held on Tuesday, May 22, 7 p.m. in Memorial Hall Library. The public is invited to attend.


Awards were given in three categories: exterior preservation, sympathetic addition and individual achievement.

And the awards go to:

-- 9 Abbot St., Elizabeth Downs House, (circa 1850) sympathetic addition, Thomas and Elizabeth Lazay, owners;

-- 53 Abbot St., Hemenway-Shorten House, built 1897, sympathetic addition, Eamon and Nora McDermott, owners;

-- 33 Central St., Christ Church Andover, built 1887, sympathetic addition, the Parish of Christ Church, owner;

-- 36 Central St., Ester H. Byers House, built 1891, sympathetic addition, Ann Marie Fogg, owner;

-- 98 Chestnut St., Charles & Sarah Donovan House, (circa 1850) exterior preservation, Brian and Caitlin Castagna, owners;

-- 36 High St., Sylvester Merrill House, (circa 1850) exterior preservation, Barbara Kiley, owner;

-- 72 Central St., Daniel Abbot House, (circa 1790) sympathetic addition, Amy Farabaugh, owner;

-- 211 Andover St., Daniel & Deborah Poor House, (circa 1850) exterior preservation, Michael and Bonnie Magoon Haley, owners;

-- 373 South Main St., Holt-Cogswell House, built 1740, exterior preservation, Kenneth and Elisabeth Harper, owners;

-- No Cell Tower Group of Shawsheen Village for its successful effort to prevent MBTA monopole towers from being installed in Andover and, ultimately, in 16 other Massachusetts cities and towns. The group members are Georgeann Keer, Anil and Naomi Navkal, Carey Poe, Danny and Laurie O’Toole, and Andover Selectman Alex Vispoli.



Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you